My Mission

“The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom.” 
― Isaac Asimov

My summer project is to communicate the research or my peers at the Bowdoin Scientific Station on Kent Island, located in the Bay of Fundy, to a public audience unversed in scientific jargon and methods. Kent Island is small but fascinating, because of  its history and its ecology. Its forests are a bird sanctuary, and its rocky beaches are part of a huge intertidal habitat created by the Bay of Fundy’s 40 foot tides. My peers are conducing research on birds, particularly petrels, snails, rockweed, and kelp, building on the nearly 100 years of scientific observation on the Island. My goal is to learn about their research and methods, and to tie it into a larger picture of wildlife conservation in this area. Kent Island is unique in its isolation and scale, and therefore is a prime spot for research because all you have to do to see nature at work is to step outside. I will try to update this blog as faithfully as possible, with the ultimate goal of publishing my findings at the end of my 8 weeks here. It’s going to be an amazing summer, and I can’t wait to share what I learn about this wild and strange place.

 

Leave a Reply

